Anne Arundel Retired School Personnel Association

General Membership Meeting May 19, 2011 "Renditions" - Davidsonville, Md.

CALL TO ORDER: President Ione Williams called the meeting to order at 10:30 A.M.

PLEDGE TO THE FLAG: The Pledge to the Flag was led by Robert "Bob" Kanach.

GREETINGS: Ione welcomed the members to the last general membership meeting for the 2010/2011 school year.

MINUTES: Copies of the minutes from the March 17, 2011 meeting were shared with the members present. Ione asked for any corrections/changes. A correction was noted with reference to the organization "Partners In Care". It was moved/seconded that the corrected minutes be approved /filed.

TREASURER'S REPORT: Ione shared the most recent report and asked if there were any questions. Having none, the report was filed for audit.

COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Free School, Travel & Scholarships: Howard Hall reported the Free School is back on line for the spring/summer tours. This will be the 20th year. The first class to visit was in May - 1991. Unfortunately only one school group has visited in the last five years. It is the last "restored" free school in existence in Maryland. Volunteer help is needed. Everyone was encouraged to visit the site on Sunday afternoons to see the building and artifacts.

Legislative Update: Virginia Crespo gave an update on current legislative initiatives in Annapolis. Virginia encouraged everyone to visit the MRSPA website for a detailed listing of current bills and information regarding MRSPA's position on the bills. She also reminded everyone of the "Special Legislative Session" that will be convened by Sen. Mike Miller in late September/ early October. She felt the pension system funding will be included in the session and encouraged everyone to communicate with their representatives in Annapolis to block any moves to pass the cost of our pension to the locals.

USM News: Most recent newsletter was distributed by Virginia Crespo.

Consumer Education: Otho Johnson announced his resignation as committee chair, effective April 26, 2011. Otho wanted the minutes to reflect his announced resignation.

Scholarships: Karlie Everett reminded everyone of the donation envelopes on each table and that the scholarship recipients would be present for the luncheon and recognition.

By-Laws Revision Proposal: Ed Stofko presented a formal proposal for the consideration of the general membership to change the length of the AARSPA Presidency from a one year term to a two year term. This is the first proposed change to the by-laws in 14 years and will be presented by Ed for a vote at the

September Executive Board Meeting. A copy of the proposed change will be included in the minutes for today's meeting.

Remembrance / Memorial Service: Dianne Rogers and Nina Griffith led the membership in recognizing the AARSPA members who passed away during the past year. Members read the individual names of the departed members and placed a rose in a vase. The vase will be placed on display at the central office. The AARSPA choir under the leadership of Tom Neuenschwander led the members in singing two hymns. It was also noted that a donation in memory of the departed members will be made to Scholarships for Scholars of Anne Arundel County Public Schools. A copy of the AARSPA Memorial Service will be included with today's meeting minutes.

Birthday Gifts: Members with birthdays in April, May, and June-2011 were reminded to pick up their gifts from the gift table.

LUNCHEON

AARSPA Scholarship Winners: Karlie Everett introduced this year's scholarship winners and their families. The winners are: John William Allyn, Kaylie Elizabeth DeNuto and Delany Brook Gunther. Each winner spoke to the members regarding their educational plans and to extend thanks to the group.

Installation of Officers for 2011 -2012: Carla Duls, MRSPA Area Director installed the new officers.

President: Robert Kanach President-Elect: Vacant Treasurer: Don Smith Asst. Treasurer: Pat Ericson Recording Secretary: John Hammond Asst. Recording Secretary: Lonnie Kelly Corresponding Secretary: Charlie Toth

Announcements: *Outgoing President Ione Williams* thanked everyone for their support and hard work during her term of office. She presented Certificates of Appreciation to the 2010-2011 officers. She announced that AARSPA and members received several awards from MRSPA . Carla Duls, Estelle Johnson and Max Muller received certificates for outstanding service during the 2010-2011 year and that AARSPA received a certificate for the largest membership increase for local associations with over 1,000 members. MRSPA also awarded the Local Community Service award to AARSPA's *Voices in Melody* chorus .

Announcements: *President Robert "Bob" Kanach* addressed the membership and challenged everyone to assist in increasing our membership numbers. He encouraged everyone to bring a retiree to the next membership luncheon to be held at Snyder's Willow Grove Restaurant in September -2011. In addition, he encouraged everyone to support MRSPA by attending the MRSPA Convention to be held at the Wisp Resort in McHenry, Maryland (Garrett County) on September 13 - 15, 2011.

Reminder: AARSPA has a new web site. Log on to www.aarspa.org

Meeting Adjourned: Ione thanked everyone for coming to the meeting and wished everyone a safe and healthy summer.

Minutes Respectfully Submitted by: John Hammond, Secretary